2021 Lincoln Handicap Betting Tips

The Unibet Lincoln is one of the most well-known British races and it ultimately heralds the start of the 2021 Flat horse racing season, with some of the leading trainers bringing their horses to Doncaster racecourse for the meeting and there’s plenty of prize money on offer in South Yorkshire when it comes to this race.

The Lincoln Handicap traditionally forms one half of the spring double, with the betting usually wide open for this encounter which is run over the distance of one mile and there are as many as twenty-two runners who can compete for this major honour.

Brentford Hope, Ilaraab and Ajyaall Among Lincoln Favourites

Brentford Hope heads the betting market with a number of bookies and the Richard Hughes-trained horse obliged with a decent victory in a handicap at Haydock back in October, with Jamie Spencer on board when the runner won as the 9/4 favourite.

However, Ilaraab arguably has better credentials and the four-year-old landed a string of five consecutive victories last season, with the horse looking increasingly impressive and the horse obliged with a solid win to sign off the previous campaign when obliging with the goods in October.

Haggas also has Ajyaall lining up and that’s another dart that could end up going in, with the Sheikh Ahmed Al Maktoum-owned runner having scored twice at Wolverhampton last season and could realise further potential.

The History of the Lincoln Handicap

The Lincoln Handicap first took place in the middle of the 19th century, with the first running of the race occurring in 1853, with this race taking place on the first Saturday of the flat season, with the other half of the Spring Double being the Aintree Grand National which traditionally takes place a few weeks later in the season.

As the name suggests, the race was actually held at Lincoln until 1964 when it was transferred in 1965, with the name previously being the Lincoln Spring Handicap and it was run over 1.5 miles in the early stages before being shortened to the distance of one mile.

There was no race in 2020, with Auxerre the winner of the race in 2019 and that was the first time that a favourite had obliged since 2010, with Levitate, Ocean Tempest and Brae Hill among the big priced horses that have won this race.